With Their Feet In The Earth

April 3, 2017

http://photography.nationalgeographic.com/photography/photo-of-the-day/hiker-scottish-highlands/

I took my pack
and my stave
sent my feet to the North
to the misty highlands
for to see God’s creation

Past the stone bridge
the river lane
between the throng of trees
do they e’er cross over
I wondered

Do they meet
now and then
when men have gone to rest
do they stride, stately
in their mossy cloaks

For as I walked
among those sentinels
they waved and they creaked
as if souls aching
to wander

The trees whispered
behind their broad
mighty hands
secret sayings
chanting, praying

These grand souls
lifted their cathedral arches
to the heavens
their mossy feet finely laced
in the earth

They were all at one
the ancient elders
the congregants
the foundation
and the vault

How could I be lost
in that forest house
striding as a penitent pilgrim
before their graceful pillars
they command reverence

I could lose myself there
in God’s majestic
brooding creation
that holy place
silent and vital

Under stained glass windows
of canopies unending
miles of green sparkling
in the blue and sun rays
I found myself

A little smaller.

One Response to “With Their Feet In The Earth”

  1. iampeacenow Says:

    This is wonderful. Such imagery! peace


Leave a Reply

