Then Danced A Shadow

June 7, 2016

_MG_6301.JPG

Trimmed these sails
To light in your port
Then danced away

Fear, just me
Same as ever so
Twixt these twin shadows

I am not torn
Yet have these relics been only
One a wound as will not close

Twins adored
Riddled to shreds
My heart and my mind

I’ve walked me to a spiral
That loops returnt to itself
Of touches unendured

O lust that betrays me
Let me distill this dream
For I touched not thy tresses

That last time so fair
Though twas cold bitter cold
For fear or was it fear?

For some thing I dared not again
O why did I pull loose
This anchor when not half set?

Open these arms this time an’ I return
Two shadows
My sails have harbor’d

Between thy ports
Mooring in but the one
Though the other left fair trade

O let me be, cursed dreaming
Let my breath be my own
Or let down thy slip

Let me mind this fair haven
The dark one that has haunted me so
Think this paradox?

No but painful
To dream to lift this fair veil
Of the white

Of the fountain
Of the longest long lingering
Let me come here

Or throw me to the stars
And let me ne’er hear again
Nor see with these eyes

These browning lands ever.

Leave a Reply

