In a Moment

December 28, 2015

Your breath was vital on my breast
For a moment.
My breath caught in my throat
For a moment.
And you were gone.

I can only lament to my Father
For you were wonderfully stitched
For a moment
Then you were gone.

I have my tears
I have my broken heart
I have an empty chasm

But hope is greatness
Though peace is so very, very
Hard.

You were my sunshine
Eclipsed by loss
O God why have you sent me
This messenger of grace
In a vessel of tragedy?

Through these clenched hands
Eyes, lips
I cannot but weep and weep
O’er what you’ve given
And taken
In a moment.

This breath of life
You’ve taken for your own
To grow in your realm
Away from me.

But the sun shall shine
The Son will shine
Upon him,
And me
In eternity.

O God, warm me
For the cold today
Has taken from me
The life closest to me.

O God, return to me
The breath, the vitality
The strength I had in thee.

Restore my joy
Though my loss weighs immensely
And my breast
Is empty

All this
In only a moment
Though all along,
You were with me

________________________________
For my friends, Tedd and Kylie

Leave a Reply

