Emptiness and Lies

September 14, 2013

Two walk on the causeway
The narrow way cannot contain
Any distance
Still they walk

I wish you loved me for what I have done
But what have I done?
My sin kills your love

I wish you loved me for what I love
But that too is what I’ve done
My sin kills your love

I am not what you should love
My pride says this is insanity
My sin says I am enough

How easily I lie
To me
And you

The ice lies thick
Thick with emptiness
For we do not love
What we should

I will recant my lies
So tomorrow I will not
Be the same as today

Or

Oh yes I will
Still lying to me
Just as I am right now

O’ Lord, come quickly
For I am not enough for me
Or much of anything

Forgive me
I must rest in my Lord’s rest
For that is all I have
And you too.

Leave a Reply

