Peter and Me

August 15, 2013

I’m finally done running
This time again
I come back to your campfire
Back with the men

You called me to heel
Each time forever
In the midst of my circles
I flew again and again

This time I stayed
You asked me three times
I huddled beside you
You stood at the shoreline

I will die for you
With devotion and pride
But not quite yet now
I must run and hide

What else do I know
But you love me so
Perhaps tomorrow
When you call I will go

I’ve finally done running
Time and again
I need your campfire
To warm away this sin.

John 21:15-18

When they had finished breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Feed my lambs.” He said to him a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Tend my sheep.” He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” Peter was grieved because he said to him the third time, “Do you love me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything; you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Feed my sheep. Truly, truly, I say to you, when you were young, you used to dress yourself and walk wherever you wanted, but when you are old, you will stretch out your hands, and another will dress you and carry you where you do not want to go.”

Leave a Reply

