The Ocean Is Probably Dry

August 6, 2013

this sand is shining in the desert
there is nothing here but the wind and the dust
and the sage to keep me warm

the sun beats down with a coarse, pale light
that turns the grains of sand into diamonds
there is no one here to be with me

but I am not alone
my sorrows keep me company
bringing memories to grate my numbed senses

where is the water
where are the tears
why is my heart so parched

these diamonds could be real
they could mean my life in the city
but here they just hurt my eyes

with their glassy stares
that reach from the horizon
and farther—perhaps to the sea

which is probably dry, scorched
by this star that shines in the day

where is the water
where are the tears
and why the hell is my heart so parched

2 Responses to “The Ocean Is Probably Dry”


  1. Such a powerful poem!


Leave a Reply

