Three Fine Words

May 27, 2005

Three fine words

Are all I have

‘Till we again

Shall join our hands

Three fine words

‘Till my heart is full

And my love again

Is by my side

My eyes are teary

From the slicing wind

My hands are raw

From this hurried climb

Enemies close ‘round me

In the dusk

As I am wishing

I might see my love again

As I wish I might see

My love one last time

Three fine words

Were all I had

To leave my love

In my last breath

Three fine words

To hold the world

Ah, my own love, ‘tis true

That I miss you.

Leave a Reply

