I Am

May 27, 2005

I am he who fights with the sword

Striking his foe for the love of his master

I am he who loves the scent of his horse

And the leather and dust as he traverses old worn trails

I am he who revels in standing at a cliff’s edge

Feeling the oceans’ spray and hearing the wind’s song

For he who cries out at the sight of the great mountains

And vast plains, I am their beauty and glory.

I am the one who weeps for he has lost his sight

And cannot behold that which I have created.

I am the one who cannot see yet weeps for he can feel

The bite of cold waters, the warmth of spring’s breeze

I am the father who cries for he has lost his son.

I am the father who laughs for in losing his son he has regained his lost love.

I am you, yet you still do not understand.  I have felt what you feel, for to instill the marvel in you, I must first marvel myself

I am, yet I cannot understand why you do not want me.

Leave a Reply

