At Sadness’ Edge

April 3, 2005

A thousand hearts cried

We love you

And a thousand souls cried

We need you

We’ve watched you

Burning candles for us

On cold, lonely nights

We’ve seen the tears

In your eyes

I sang

Wait for me, then

At the dark lands’ edge

I’ll be home soon

When I find a path

Off this ledge

I was blind and voiceless

And could not see you there

Waiting with our love-filled stare

A thousand hearts cried out

We loved you

And a thousand souls cried out

We needed you

We’ve watched you

burning candles for us

On cold, lonely nights

We’ve seen the tears

In your eyes

I’m here at last, I whispered

But now it’s too late, they cried

The dark lands have taken us all

She was in your heart

A century and a day

And we were her voice

And her scent and her spirit

All calling out you

In your lonely dance

‘round the candles

So I ran to find her

To tell of all my tears

And there she was

took my hand

showed me my fears

A beautiful face still called out

A single, lonely heart cried faintly

I love you

And a single, lonely soul whispered I need you

I’ve watched you burning

Your candles for me

On cold, lonely nights

I’ll always see the tears

In your eyes.

Leave a Reply

