Warm Hearth Chant

February 17, 2005

a host of hidden nightlings

birds to silver clouds did sing

their cantrips of love in dark

for sails on dreams to embark

these things I saw on this night

of darkness served on starlight

black wings lifted high, then flew

and I dreamed me back to you

I found their notes made your song

and its singing made night strong

I wished to learn to sing this

melody sweet as a kiss

so I bade tiny souls teach

the song, that your heart I’d reach

flown as ghosts on black wings

they are gone now, nightlings

they’ve left me the song’s spell

and this tale I tell

for they know what I hold

alone, can stay your cold.

Leave a Reply

