Hold Close The Dagger

February 16, 2005

There are gemstones

That I have seen

And precious metal

For which I’ve watched you dream

When all I’ve ever wanted

Is to be something

Not in my eyes—I am my own

But in your eyes

I want to be a hero

I want to be someone

In your eyes

When we are alone

When we walk the stones

For there is lightning

In the hearts of lonely spirits

And darkness is stealing

The meaning from mere friendships

Take this single red rose

Read the whispering song

Take the dagger hold it close

Remember, I’ve never waited too long

…Ever…

I wanted to be a hero

Wanted to be someone

In your precious dreams

When we were alone

When we walked the stones.

Leave a Reply

