Wishing Spell

January 30, 2005

I loved that cup of mulled wine

when outside it was frozen cold

I loved that book of yellowed pages

leatherbound, dusty and old

I loved the starry skies

and their reflections in your eyes

that night when I had you to hold

for my heart is golden

its love is undying

so few times has there been love

needed so dearly

as when I found you crying

I needed that night

under the moon

I needed you when

you said he’d be gone soon

I loved you then

and I love you now

and when we parted

I loved you more than ever

for my soul is a well

an ancient wishing spell

full of gifts of tears and kisses

all that is needed

to regain your breath

is love me as I have loved you

Leave a Reply

