Sunlit Days

January 30, 2005

I said that I love you

I didn’t know what I mean

its’ been so long since I’ve held someone

since I’ve tried this hard to sing

they say it’s just your face

and love has no place in this

I just wait for the sunlit days

when they’ll roast in the words they hiss

a sunlit day

you know, that is my soul

but for now, it’s overcast grey

I’m no longer young, or a fool

and you’ve held the key to my chains

for what seems eons in these rains

it’s been so long since I’ve been

since I’ve tried this hard to sing

please see me in this sunlit day

and open wide the iron gate

that holds back the flood to fill me

there is a dark, deep hole

in me that must soon be filled

it’s been promised so much more

than the blackness.

Leave a Reply

