Return From The Browning Lands

January 5, 2005

I told her about you
On the last fall of the moon
That you would be gone
To the wars soon.

And she huddled in the covers
Her eyes were darkened stars
Tears came in hazy pools
With cries cutting me like shards.

Oh yes, I was there then
For I could not go
And leave our beloved
Weeping in the cold, lonely snow.

And she lay back
Into my ancient arms
On the night of the full moon
And she slept as I watched from the stairs.

Yes, we are together still
Waiting and watching the browning lands
For you to return from sword and castle strong
To take our beloved into your arms.

And for me to return
At last, to my home in the sands.

Leave a Reply

