But Take With You

January 5, 2005

I hear the wanderlust upon your breath
I see the dusty stone road in your eyes
And I feel the marching drum’s tempo
Timing the wake of your stride.

Just go from here
Leave this place while you may
Please don’t make me watch your soul
Fade away here on this wayside.

I’ve heard your song
It is lonely and gray
I’ve heard your wishes
And I wish they would come true.

Flee this cold place
But take with you
A breath of me
That I too may know
The joy you’ll finally find.

Leave a Reply

