Trapped

January 2, 2005

Say nothing is sacred
Starve a wild creature from the light

Yet the pain here is strikingly like hunger

Say there is nothing left
Deny the existence of sunlight

Yet time has filled itself with absence

I am not empty, but unfilled
There are places in here devoid of all but dust
And they, I fear, will not ever see footfall
I have felt legions within my mind

Yet they have not awakened from their slumber
Nor will they, I have decided
And that voiceless countenance in the darkness
Says my words are without coherence

There is no reality here
That nothingness, emptiness is all there is to be found down here
I am compelled to match this heaven and earth
For if I descend into the depths or if I ascend beyond the stars

I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

