The Colors We Found

December 30, 2004

In the night
After the pale moon
I sang a song of mourning

For my true love was lost
Stolen from me
By the sun and the winds of yesterday.

Under starry skies
I cried and cried
Yearning for comfort’s arms

But my love was gone
Stolen from me
I was alone in my cold, wintery tears.

While I wept
The spirits, they sang
Of the colors she’d found

And the light and the fire of day
And they sang
Three breaths of warm forever

The singing brought light
From the skies down
On my face, drying tears

For I remembered
So suddenly
The wraiths of the past

And their warm arms.

Leave a Reply

